Motherhood: A Visual

Saw this on some friends’ Facebook pages:

Let’s break this down by picture, shall we?

1. My friends who don’t have kids sometimes don’t understand why I want to stay home.  But they have never, ever imagined that my home is a war zone.  They know me and they know my kids.

2. My mother is no longer living.  However, I am sure she would not have imagined me as a June Cleaver wannabe.  She was a stay-at-home mom herself, so I’m sure she knows the realities.  My mother-in-law, who is around the age my mother would have been, was not a stay-at-home mom.  As far as I know, she doesn’t imagine me enjoying housework.  Or wearing that to do it in.

3. I can guarantee with 100% certainty that my husband does not believe I watch television all day.  I’m glad I married him.

4. What, exactly, does being a stay-at-home mom have to do with co-sleeping?  I know plenty of families, with all sorts of work/stay home configurations, in which co-sleeping was part of parenting.  I doubt that “society” associates the two.  Also, those kids look pretty happy to me.  If society thinks that staying home with the kids is one way to create a loving, happy family, then I’m not complaining.

5. I have no delusions of grandeur.

6. Aaaaand…nope.  My days are, and always have been, a lot more boring than that.  My eight-year-old multitasks better than I do.  Huh, I guess according to that, he’s going to make one heck of a stay-at-home mom.

What's on your mind?

