WIPpet Wednesday: Something Fishy

Another Wednesday, another week down. We survived the Ultimate Recital Challenge over the weekend (band competition, dress rehearsal, dance recital). My son’s jazz band won first place in their division, second place overall, and division awards for best brass/woodwinds. The dance recital was fantastic, and the kids all did a great job. You can read all about it (and see pictures and video!) here. Now all we’ve got left are one dress rehearsal, one recital, two concerts, and a graduation before school ends. At least they’re not all crammed into one weekend.

I’m finally doing some actual writing rather than editing. I think I already mentioned this, but I’m adding several scenes from Alex’s POV. That’s been fun but challenging, because I’ve only ever seen him from Dani or Phin’s perspectives.

In order to write this scene, I put out a question on Facebook asking what Alex might be drinking if he’s mostly just in the mood to forget his crappy day. For the very curious, he’s drinking scotch, which was the suggestion of several friends based on the details I shared about his personality. The best part was how this resulted in three days’ worth of ongoing discussion. My friends apparently really like alcohol!

WIP math: 15 sentences (6 + 4 + 1 + 4) from a new scene in chapter 5.

“This is completely screwed up,” he told the fish. “Dani thinks I can get inside his head. Hell, I can’t even get inside my own head most days.” He sighed and ran a hand over his face. “And now I’m talking to my fish. I can’t decide if I’ve had too much booze or not enough. Think I’ll go with the latter.” He picked up the glass and sipped more slowly this time. He snorted at the fish tank. “You guys are lousy company. I need a dog.”

He set the glass back on the table and stared at it, his head buzzing. Damn, he thought. I have to work in the morning. He shrugged and poured another shot.

As always, thanks to K. L. Schwengel for hosting. Why not post a bit of your own WIP and link up with us here? I promise we don’t bite…usually.

22 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednesday: Something Fishy

  1. I’d go for Irish Mist or Fireball myself. 🙂 Great scene though. I absolutely love that he’s talking to his fish.

    • I had to ask because I can’t handle much—a glass of wine now and again is pretty much my limit. This was the one that got the most votes. I don’t know where the fish came from; it just occurred to me that he might have some.

    • True. My cat tends to give advice, but it isn’t very good. Usually along the lines of “Everything can be solved by feeding me.” She doesn’t lick my face, though, so I guess that’s a plus.

  2. This is the second time I’ve read something by an author friend this week where a character is talking with an animal. 🙂 And that’s really cool how you know your character so well you know exactly what he’d drink on a particular day.

    • In fairness, it was my friend who came up with the idea. She asked for a description of the character, which I provided. She suggested the specific drink and the amount he would probably consume. 🙂 But it’s true, I had to know him pretty well in order to get that kind of feedback from her.

  3. Great performance–Yay, kids!

    Hmm, I’d suggest asking Chloe for a second opinion, but in my brief exposure to too many college campuses (and fraternities), I noticed certain school communities favored specific alcohols… probably because that was the alcohol the students could get easily. Thing is…. this “taste” often followed through into post college years, with the brands just getting fancier. Just an interesting side note that might hep you plot out some of Alex’s past…

    I see Alex as more of a Wild Turkey guy, btw. Well, except for the fish…. Then I think Captain Morgan. 😉

    • LOL! Well, in order to justify this particular drink, I gave it a history which involves an ex-boyfriend (who may or may not be the one making an appearance later in the story as someone an inadvertently drunk Phin doesn’t like). I haven’t decided if The Ass (who I mentioned in a previous WIPpet) is this specific ex.

  4. I have talked to fish. I love the way they accept everything I say without judgment. Not only that, they never seem to ask anything of me…

    This is delightful and perfect. I’d like more. =)

    • Fish really are non-judgmental, aren’t they? I fish-sat for my husband once when we were in college. His fish was surprisingly good company.

    • Thanks! Yes, I talk to my cat all the time. Though lately it’s mostly, “No, I’m not getting up at 3am to feed you.” But she’s otherwise a good listener. 😉

What's on your mind?